close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Griot African-American Book Discussion

Ordinary Light: A Memoir by Tracy K. Smith

2020-01-21 18:30:00 2020-01-21 19:45:00 America/Chicago Griot African-American Book Discussion Griot features books by African-American authors. January's selection: Ordinary Light: A Memoir by Tracy K. Smith. Eola Road Branch

Tuesday, January 21
6:30pm - 7:45pm

Add to Calendar 2020-01-21 18:30:00 2020-01-21 19:45:00 America/Chicago Griot African-American Book Discussion Griot features books by African-American authors. January's selection: Ordinary Light: A Memoir by Tracy K. Smith. Eola Road Branch

Eola Road Branch

Eola 108 Small Meeting Room

Griot features books by African-American authors. January's selection: Ordinary Light: A Memoir by Tracy K. Smith.

Monthly book discussion featuring works by African-American authors. For copies of the book, pick up a copy at Eola Road Branch Adult Reference desk (2nd floor), or contact Becky Clark at 630-264-3420.

Book description:

The dazzling memoir from U.S. Poet Laureate Tracy K. Smith, author of Wade in the Water and Life on Mars. Named one of the best books of the year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, Denver Post, and Oprah.com. In Ordinary Light, Pulitzer Prize–winning poet Tracy K. Smith tells her remarkable story, giving us a quietly potent memoir that explores her coming-of-age and the meaning of home against a complex backdrop of race, faith, and the unbreakable bond between a mother and daughter. Here is the story of a young artist struggling to fashion her own understanding of belief, loss, history, and what it means to be black in America.

TAGS: | Book Discussion |

Eola Road Branch

Phone: 630-264-3400
Fax: 630-898-5220
Branch manager
Becky Clark

Hours
Mon, Sep 21 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 12:00PM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 12:00PM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 Closed
Sat, Sep 26 10:00AM to 2:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

This branch shares the Eola Community Center buiding with the Fox Valley Park District. It offers a quiet reading room with a fireplace, study rooms and a family computer lab. The Eola Road Branch has public meeting rooms that may be used for community programs. 

 

Contact Becky

Upcoming events

Sat, Sep 26, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Virtual
Registration is now closed

Mon, Sep 28, All day
All locations: Select Your Pickup Branch
Registration is now closed

Mon, Sep 28, 2:00pm - 2:15pm
Virtual

Tue, Sep 29, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Virtual

Wed, Sep 30, 10:00am - 10:05am

Wed, Sep 30, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Virtual

Wed, Sep 30, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Virtual - Evento Virtual en Facebook Live

Thu, Oct 01, All day
Virtual - Discord

Thu, Oct 01, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Virtual

Thu, Oct 01, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual - Discord

Fri, Oct 02, All day
Virtual - Discord

Fri, Oct 02, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Santori Library - Parker Garden

Sat, Oct 03, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sat, Oct 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Virtual Program

Sun, Oct 04, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sun, Oct 04, 12:00pm - 12:05pm
Virtual

Mon, Oct 05, All day
Virtual - Discord

Mon, Oct 05, 10:30am - 10:35am
Virtual

Tue, Oct 06, All day
Virtual - Discord

Wed, Oct 07, All day
Virtual - Discord

Wed, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:30am
Virtual Program

Wed, Oct 07, 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Zoom and Facebook Live

Thu, Oct 08, All day
Virtual - Discord

Thu, Oct 08, 11:00am - 11:30am
Virtual Program

Thu, Oct 08, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Virtual - YouTube + Facebook

Thu, Oct 08, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Virtual

Thu, Oct 08, 6:00pm - 6:20pm
Virtual on YouTube

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sat, Oct 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Program

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual - Discord