close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Telling the Story with Maps

Maps of Early Illinois and Where to Find Them

2020-02-10 18:30:00 2020-02-10 19:30:00 America/Chicago Telling the Story with Maps Ginger Frere will present a wide variety of maps that can be used to tell the story of Illinois and will provide suggestions for finding maps to tell your family story. Santori Library

Monday, February 10
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2020-02-10 18:30:00 2020-02-10 19:30:00 America/Chicago Telling the Story with Maps Ginger Frere will present a wide variety of maps that can be used to tell the story of Illinois and will provide suggestions for finding maps to tell your family story. Santori Library

Santori Library

N126 - Alarm Detection System, Inc. Meeting Room

Ginger Frere will present a wide variety of maps that can be used to tell the story of Illinois and will provide suggestions for finding maps to tell your family story.

As the saying goes, "A picture is worth a thousand words." This is also the case with maps. From simple hand-drawn sketches to intricately detailed masterpieces, maps can convey immense detail. They can provide the names of places, distances, topography, geographical features, migration routes, land ownership, boundaries and political jurisdictions. Maps allow us to see the physical relationship between places. Maps can help us answer questions – how did our ancestors get from one place to another?

Ginger Frere, MLIS, MBA, is a professional researcher who provides a variety of research services to authors, professional historians, film makers and individuals interested in genealogy. Her primary research interests include Chicago history and the creation of online tools for genealogists. She was one of the driving forces behind the development of ChicagoAncestors.org.

Santori Library

Phone: 630-264-4100
Fax: 630-892-5648
Branch manager
Tom Spicer

Hours
Mon, Sep 21 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Tue, Sep 22 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Wed, Sep 23 12:00PM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 24 12:00PM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 25 Closed
Sat, Sep 26 10:00AM to 2:00PM
Sun, Sep 27 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

A state-of-the-art center for technology, information, literacy creativity and community. Equipped with a Makerspace, local history and genealogy room, teen space, and study rooms.

Contact Tom

Upcoming events

Sat, Sep 26, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Virtual
Registration is now closed

Mon, Sep 28, All day
All locations: Select Your Pickup Branch
Registration is now closed

Mon, Sep 28, 2:00pm - 2:15pm
Virtual

Tue, Sep 29, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Virtual

Wed, Sep 30, 10:00am - 10:05am

Wed, Sep 30, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Virtual

Wed, Sep 30, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Virtual - Evento Virtual en Facebook Live

Thu, Oct 01, All day
Virtual - Discord

Thu, Oct 01, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Virtual

Thu, Oct 01, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual - Discord

Fri, Oct 02, All day
Virtual - Discord

Fri, Oct 02, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Santori Library - Parker Garden

Sat, Oct 03, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sat, Oct 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Virtual Program

Sun, Oct 04, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sun, Oct 04, 12:00pm - 12:05pm
Virtual

Mon, Oct 05, All day
Virtual - Discord

Mon, Oct 05, 10:30am - 10:35am
Virtual

Tue, Oct 06, All day
Virtual - Discord

Wed, Oct 07, All day
Virtual - Discord

Wed, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:30am
Virtual Program

Wed, Oct 07, 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Zoom and Facebook Live

Thu, Oct 08, All day
Virtual - Discord

Thu, Oct 08, 11:00am - 11:30am
Virtual Program

Thu, Oct 08, 3:00pm - 3:15pm
Virtual - YouTube + Facebook

Thu, Oct 08, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Virtual

Thu, Oct 08, 6:00pm - 6:20pm
Virtual on YouTube

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual

Fri, Oct 09, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual

Sat, Oct 10, All day
Virtual - Discord

Sat, Oct 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Program

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual

Sun, Oct 11, All day
Virtual - Discord